Anne Weber-Main, PhD

Associate Professor of Medicine, Division of General Internal Medicine

Anne Weber-Main

Contact Info

Mailing Address:
420 Delaware ST SE
MMC 194
Minneapolis, MN 55455

Administrative Assistant Name

Administrative Phone

Administrative Email

Administrative Fax Number

Associate Professor of Medicine, Division of General Internal Medicine

Associate Vice Chair for Faculty Affairs and Diversity, Department of Medicine

Co-Director of Mentoring, Clinical and Translational Science Institute (CTSI)

Fellowship, American Association for the Advancement of Science, Washington, DC

PhD, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN

Bachelor's Degree, Drew University, Madison, NJ


Dr. Weber-Main’s interests and expertise are in research faculty development, with concentrations in scientific/medical writing and mentoring models. She is a prolific scientific writing and career advancement mentor for faculty/fellows across the health sciences. In addition to earning her PhD in chemistry, she completed a Mass Media Science and Engineering Fellowship through the American Association for the Advancement of Science and earned two editing/writing certificates from the American Medical Writers Association. Her extensive teaching experience includes development of the Proposal Preparation Program, a longitudinal grant writing workshop series for early-career faculty. She adapted this successful curriculum for national dissemination through the NIH-funded National Research Mentoring Network, which supports the career advancement of research trainees from under-represented groups in biomedical disciplines. She has developed several online training modules for the professional development of mentors. Currently she co-directs the Mentoring Excellence Training Academy for the University of Minnesota’s Clinical and Translational Sciences Institute.

Awards & Recognition

  • Carole J. Bland Outstanding Faculty Mentor Award, University of Minnesota Medical School (2018)
  • Fellow, American Medical Writers Association (2013)
  • Teaching Recognition Award, American Medical Writers Association (2010)

Professional Associations

  • Group on Faculty Affairs, Association of American Medical Colleges
  • Council of Science Editors
  • American Medical Writers Association