Numerous medical school students have benefited from the Witrak Scholarship, which started because a patient was inspired by her physician sons and also by the care that Duluth campus alumni extended toward her while living until 100 years old.

The Intro to Rural Family Medicine and Native American Health (IRFMNAH) course is a collaborative academic experience where students get real-life training that introduces both rural medicine and Native American health. 

To celebrate Women in Medicine, a national month of recognition every September, four unique physicians from the Twin Ports area share why they love their work and what it means to the community around them.

Drew Lukes, PT, DPT, SCS, CSCS, a 2019 graduate from the University of Minnesota Medical School, loves his role as a physical therapist with Duke Athletics, but it wasn’t a straight path for him to get there.

Associate Professor, Raymond Christensen, MD, hosted a televised discussion with local infectious disease expert, Dr. Andrew Thompson, '06, for the multimedia collaboration, "COVID-19 Vaccines: Finding Answers."

Distinguished University Teaching Professor, Jim Boulger, PhD, stops by the Duluth Campus for a guest lecture on our campus’s mission-based history and efforts to improve healthcare in rural and Native American communities.

Dr. Sundeep “Sunny” Bhatia ’01 has made giving back to underserved communities and educating the next generation of medical professionals an intrinsic part of leading Prime Healthcare, one of the nation’s largest health systems based in southern California.

For 31 years, Dr. Jay Erickson, a 1987 graduate who started on the Medical School, Duluth Campus, has served a small community in Montana with compassion, intelligence and integrity.

Dr. Jurgens, a medical oncologist in St. Cloud, has witnessed treatment milestones and advancements in cancer research that have changed the diagnosis journey to one of hope.

The Minnesota Academy of Family Physicians (MAFP) recognized a University of Minnesota Medical School faculty member, alumni, a resident and medical student as part of its 2021 Academy Awards.