Ann Van Heest, MD, in the Department of Orthopedic Surgery, has been elected as secretary of the American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery for a one-year term.

Daniel J. Weisdorf, MD, a professor in the Department of Medicine and deputy director of the U of M Clinical and Translational Institute, received the 2020 Charles Bolles Bolles-Rogers Award from the Twin Cities Medical Society Foundation.

Dr. Birkey became one of the very first preceptors of the Rural Physician Associate Program in 1971, where he mentored and trained 24 medical students for 29 years. In 2019, he donated $50,000 to create a new scholarship that supports RPAP medical students on their journeys toward becoming rural family medicine physicians.

A 2005 graduate from the Doctor of Physical Therapy program in the Department of Rehabilitation Medicine, Dr. Ulfers and her partner recently made a gift to the program’s diversity efforts and initiatives.

Josie Syverson, MD, a 2013 alumna from the University of Minnesota Medical School, Duluth Campus, reflects on clinical changes in rural medicine and the power of community both in school and during her career.

Distinguished infectious disease specialist, Thomas Monson, MD, ’67, recalls his career in infectious disease control and offers insight into the COVID-19 pandemic.

Mary Owen, MD (Tlingit), assistant professor and director of the Center of American Indian and Minority Health, was selected as the incoming president of the Association of American Indian Physicians. 

An alumnus, who started at the U of M Medical School, Duluth Campus, gives back to medical students by teaching a vaccination lecture series. He brings his experience from the clinic, which has informed how to talk with families concerned about vaccines or vaccination schedules.

A 2019 graduate from the University of Minnesota Medical School, Dr. Lindmark, now a resident physician at Yale New Haven Hospital, talks about his passion for combating health disparities, which are now on full display during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Tegan Carr, a first-year medical student at the Medical School’s Duluth campus, talks about how support from the Nancy I. English M.D. (‘92) Memorial Scholarship has encouraged her mid-career shift into medicine.