The Intro to Rural Family Medicine and Native American Health (IRFMNAH) course is a collaborative academic experience where students get real-life training that introduces both rural medicine and Native American health. 

In 2018, the Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa published a health impact assessment that described the important role of manoomin—wild rice—to support the health of tribal members. In response to the findings, Emily Onello, MD, and fellow U of M Researchers are joining the scientific study.

Please join us on Tuesday, Oct. 26 for this month’s seminar, focusing on the high risk of depression comorbidity among women with substance use disorders. Presented by Dr. Marta Torrens of the Institute of Neuropsychiatry and Addictions Hospital del Mar in Barcelona, Spain.

In a first-of-its-kind study, researchers from the University of Minnesota Medical School led a large, multicenter investigation on whether cardiovascular magnetic resonance (CMR) is the best approach in evaluating patients with suspected cardiac tumors. Their results prove that CMR provides high accuracy and prognostic value for this purpose.

Assistant Professor, Sarah Beehler, PhD, is one of nine members appointed to the new cohort of the National Rural Health Association (NRHA) - Health Equity Council.

The Association of American Medical Colleges recognized two University of Minnesota Medical School leaders and a medical student for their efforts as part of the Office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion. 

A new study by University of Minnesota Medical School researchers is revealing that some people who received an mRNA vaccination for COVID-19 have greater immune responses compared to others.

U of M Medical School-led study finds that having a protocol to use blood thinners for COVID-19 patients reduces patient COVID-19 mortality by almost half. 

Professor, James Allen, PhD, and his research team have developed a new framework for suicide prevention in American Indian and Alaska Native (AI/AN) communities by placing Indigenous culture, knowledge, beliefs and community collaboration at the center of the approach.

Cathy McCarty, PhD, MPH, MSB, HEC-C, professor and associate dean for research has been selected as the 2021-2022 Building Research Capacity (BRC) Program Fellow – a joint effort of the North American Primary Care Research Group and the Association of Departments of Family Medicine.