The University of Minnesota Medical School has joined a national study working to understand how well COVID-19 vaccines prevent infection and the spread of SARS-CoV-2 among young adults between the ages of 18 and 29. It is the only trial site in the four-state border region — among 40 sites in the nation — and is currently enrolling interested study participants in the Twin Cities.

The Native Americans Into Medicine summer program through the Center of American Indian and Minority Health has inspired hundreds of Native youth to pursue careers in medicine by bringing awareness to Indigenous health disparities.

Professor, Mustafa al’Absi, PhD, will be the opening keynote speaker in Vienna, Austria for the World Association for Stress and Anxiety Disorders (WASAD) International Congress on September 20.

Kumar Belani, MD, in the Department of Anesthesiology, partnered with Narayana Health in Bengaluru, India, to develop minimum guidelines for emergency ventilators.

David Darrow, MD, MPH, in the Department of Neurosurgery, was named the Rockswold-Kaplan Endowed Chair for Traumatic Brain Injury by Hennepin Healthcare — the first time an endowed chair in the Hennepin Healthcare system has been awarded to a faculty member whose primary appointment is at the University of Minnesota Medical School.

Two Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences faculty share a model to develop diversity, equity and inclusion committees to achieve actionable, measurable and impactful goals.

Kristina Krohn, MD, assistant professor in the Department of Medicine’s Division of General Internal Medicine, helped lead the interdisciplinary task force behind the elimination of race-based eGFR adjustments at M Health Fairview.

Stephanie Terezakis, MD, in the Department of Radiation Oncology, was chosen by the department’s residents for the 2020-21 ARRO Educator of the Year Award.

A leader in Indigenous dementia care, Jordan Lewis, PhD, MSW, associate director of the Memory Keepers Medical Discovery Team (MK-MDT), is partnering with the White Earth Band of Ojibwe to develop culturally safe dementia care resources for American Indian caregivers. 

Assistant Professor, Dr. Sandra Stover was recently elected to the 2021-2022 National Rural Health Association’s (NRHA) Rural Medical Education (RME) Executive Committee dedicated to advancing the training of physicians for rural practice through network development and advocacy.