On July 11, 2022, the International Society of Heart and Lung Transplantation (ISHLT) announced that Rebecca Cogswell, MD will succeed Josef Stehlik, MD, MPH as the Medical Director of the Society's International Thoracic Organ Transplant (TTX) Registry.

Principal Investigator, Paul Iaizzo, PhD, was awarded a Bronzed Human Heart Model by

We are pleased to announce that Wolfgang Gaertner, MD, MSC, has been appointed the new Division Chief of Colon and Rectal Surgery in the Department of

The University of Minnesota Medical School, Duluth Campus received a $1M gift from Essentia Health. This gift was secured for the endowed Essentia Health Professorship in Medical Education, which will provide additional leadership at the Medical School, Duluth Campus.

The Department of Surgery recently helped launch the Center for Quality Outcomes, Discovery and Evaluation (C-QODE) alongside other proceduralist departments across the Medical School. With a focus of providing convenient pathways for democratizing data, the center is improving data accessibility for clinical providers and researchers.

The 2021 MN Rural Health Lifetime Achievement Award has been given to Associate Professor, Raymond Christensen, MD, by the Minnesota Department of Health's Office of Rural Health and Primary Care.

The Intro to Rural Family Medicine and Native American Health (IRFMNAH) course is a collaborative academic experience where students get real-life training that introduces both rural medicine and Native American health. 

Professor, Mustafa al’Absi, PhD, served as the opening keynote speaker in Vienna, Austria for the World Conference on Stress and Related Diseases.

Associate Professor, Raymond Christensen, MD, hosted a televised discussion with local infectious disease expert, Dr. Andrew Thompson, '06, for the multimedia collaboration, "COVID-19 Vaccines: Finding Answers."