Drs. Cindy Howard and Dana Johnson receive 2019 AAP lifetime achievement awards

Congratulations to Drs. Cindy Howard and Dana Johnson, recipients of 2019 AAP lifetime achievement awards. Dr. Howard received the Hillman-Olness Award for Lifetime Service and Lasting Contributions to Global Child Health, which recognizes individuals who have devoted their careers to advancing global child health. Dr. Johnson received the Thomas F. Tonniges, MD, FAAP, Lifetime Achievement Award for Advocacy on Behalf of Vulnerable Children, which recognizes significant contributions over the course of a professional lifetime advocating for vulnerable children.

Share this post

Related News

  • Is COVID-19 in Breast Milk? U of M Researchers Will Soon Know

    Erin Osterholm, MD, assistant professor for the Department of Pediatrics is looking to analyze the relationship and concerns revolving around COVID-19 transmission through breast milk. With the assistance of Dr. Mark Schleiss, MD, and the support of the CO:VID grant, they lead a study looking at the risk newborns face when breastfeeding during the COVID-19 pandemic.

  • Primary Care is a Point of Intervention for Youth Facing Housing Instability

    For many people, a trip to primary care for an annual checkup is a routine event. Even for vulnerable populations, these trips are key to preventing serious healthcare concerns from arising. Often, the questions and topics addressed in check-ups do not encompass the state of one’s home, leaving a large gap in care and resources that could be provided.