Medical School names new faculty leaders

Portrait of John Bischof, Ph.D.

John Bischof, Ph.D., is a renowned researcher in thermal bioengineering.

Distinguished McKnight University Professor John Bischof, Ph.D., now directs the University of Minnesota’s Institute for Engineering in Medicine (IEM), overseen by the Medical School and College of Science and Engineering.

A renowned researcher in thermal bioengineering, Bischof has contributed to applications in therapeutics, regenerative medicine, and diagnostics. At the IEM, Bischof will oversee fellowships, educational and research
programs, visitorships, and other activities. 

Bischof is a faculty member in the departments of Mechanical Engineering and Bio-medical Engineering and a member of the Masonic Cancer Center, University of Minnesota. He holds the Carl and Janet Kuhrmeyer Chair in Mechanical Engineering and the Medtronic-Bakken Endowed Chair for Engineering in Medicine. 

Portrait of Massimo Griselli, M.D.

Massimo Griselli, M.D., is considered one of the world’s top pediatric cardiovascular surgeons.

Massimo Griselli, M.D., is the new chief of the Department of Pediatrics’ Division of Pediatric Cardiac Surgery. He will also serve as codirector of the Pediatric Heart Center at University of Minnesota Masonic Children’s Hospital with Julia Steinberger, M.D. 

Griselli comes to the U from King Faisal Specialist Hospital and Research Centre in Saudi Arabia and has broad experience treating complex heart conditions affecting neonates, children, and adults. He is also internationally recognized for his expertise in adult congenital heart care, heart transplantation, and mechanical circulatory support.

Portrait of Sayeed Ikramuddin, M.D., M.H.A.

Sayeed Ikramuddin, M.D., M.H.A., has a prolific research profile in laparoscopic and bariatric surgery.

Sayeed Ikramuddin, M.D., M.H.A., has been appointed head of the Medical School’s Department of Surgery for the next two years.

During his time as interim chair of the department, Ikramuddin bolstered research support for faculty, increased the department’s collaboration efforts, fostered the surgical residency program’s continuing success, and led effective recruitments. Ikramuddin, who will hold the Jay Phillips Chair in Surgery, has been at the U since 2001 and previously held the Robert and Catherine Goodale Chair in Minimally Invasive Surgery.

Published on October 17, 2018