Susan Everson-Rose, PhD, MPH, and Anne Blaes, MD, will conduct a pilot study this spring to discover how mind-body interventions could help prevent cardiovascular disease for women with breast cancer.

Lauren Nichols, a fourth-year medical student, chose medicine over acting. Today, she found out who chose her when she matched at Children’s Hospital Los Angeles in pediatrics.

Michelle Grafelman, a fourth-year medical student, caught a bug for research at an early age that inspired her to pursue medicine. Today, she matched at the University of Washington in pediatrics.

Casey Smith, a fourth-year medical student, dedicated his undergraduate medical education to studying the healthcare needs of Native American and rural communities. Today, he matched at the University of California, San Francisco in primary care.

Andrew Venteicher, MD, PhD, was recently selected as one of four national 2020 Forbeck Scholars. “The Forbeck Scholar designation is an acknowledgement of research excellence by the William Guy Forbeck Research Foundation and one of the most prestigious appointments for a cancer-focused researcher,” said Neurosurgery Department Head Clark C. Chen, MD, PhD, in an internal announcement about the award.

The 2021 U.S. News & World Report Best Medical Schools: Research Ranking was just released and the University of Minnesota Medical School has once again risen three spots to #40, up from #43 last year, and #46 the year before.

The Education Division of the Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences Department recently welcomed two new employees. Carly Dolan is the new Education Lead and provides overall leadership for the administration team.

Bone loss resulting from spaceflight, bedrest or metabolic osteoporosis can result in catastrophic skeletal morbidities. The OsteoOmics Project was designed to examine bone cells under various gravitational forces in order to help scientists work to create better treatments for patients with bone loss on Earth.

Mark Berg, MD, an assistant professor in the Department of Family Medicine and Community Health, credits his 18 years as a rural physician for training him to handle a medical emergency that threatened the life of a state tournament wrestling competitor.

The Program of Mortuary Science at the University of Minnesota Medical School, through the eyes of its longest-serving faculty member, Mike Mathews, has transformed from teaching students about sales and chemistry to a focus on serving the survivors.


Contact Communications

Kristine Elias
Director of Communications
Phone: 612-626-5066

Please submit story ideas through our submission form.

Alyssa Dindorf | Duluth campus
Communications Specialist