Phillips Neighborhood Clinic receives excellence award


The Phillips Neighborhood Clinic (PNC) has been recognized in the category of Outstanding Graduate/Professional Student Group by the Tony Diggs Excellence Awards for work they performed during the 2012 calendar year.

This annual award recognizes the achievements of student groups across the University of Minnesota in honor of former director of the Student Activities Office Tony Diggs.

An awards banquet was held on April 11, 2013, and winners were published in the Minnesota Daily's commemorative publication Ski-U-Mah.


Read More

Jill M. Siegfried, Ph.D., named head of the Department of Pharmacology and associate director for Experimental Therapeutics at the Masonic Cancer Center

Photo courtesy Jill M. Siegfried

Jill M. Siegfried, Ph.D., has been named the next head of the Department of Pharmacology and Frederick and Alice Stark Endowed Chair. She will assume this role and also serve as associate director for Experimental Therapeutics at the Masonic Cancer Center starting in September 2013.

Siegfried is a current professor in the Department of Pharmacology and Chemical Biology at the University of Pittsburgh. She holds the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center (UPMC) Endowed Chair for Lung Cancer Research and co-leads the lung cancer program at the University of Pittsburgh Cancer Institute (UPCI). She has also directed the Specialized Program of Research Excellence (SPORE) in Lung Cancer, a grant supported by the National Cancer Institute, for the past 12 years at UPCI.


Commencement 2013

Photo by Sarah Morean

Though the weather was gray and rainy, faces were bright and spirits were high on Friday, May 3, 2013, for the Medical School Commencement ceremony.

The State Theater in downtown Minneapolis played host to our 2013 Commencement ceremony, which saw 225 students become graduates and alumni of the University of Minnesota Medical School.

President and CEO of the World Wildlife Fund, Carter S. Roberts, delivered the keynote address. His personal connection to medicine was made early on, as the son of a physician, but his connection to Minnesota came much later when his daughter became a patient of John Wagner, M.D., Pediatrics. His story urged our graduates to become more than competent, but strive to become excellent doctors as well, willing to take on challenges.

Psychiatry head to receive major award

S. Charles Schulz, M.D., head of the Department of Psychiatry, will receive the esteemed Stanley Dean Award for Research in Schizophrenia in 2014. For more than 50 years, The American College of Psychiatrists (ACP) has issued this award to “a group or individual that has made a major contribution to the treatment of schizophrenic disorders.”

The award will be presented at the next annual meeting of the ACP in February 2014. As part of the award ceremony, Schulz has also been asked to present a brief lecture on his work.

Read More

Match Day 2013

Photo by Sarah Morean

It’s the night before Match Day and Nora Sadek is feeling humbled by the requisite patience of being a match participant.

“On Monday you know that you’ve matched but you still don’t know where until Friday. To be okay with that uncertainty is a really big deal,” she admits. “Up to now, there’s been a lot more control.”

Center for Immunology names new director

Marc Jenkins, Ph.D., has been named director for the University of Minnesota’s Center for Immunology. He will assume the role on March 1, 2013. The appointment is a three-year position.

Jenkins has been a member of the Center for Immunology since it was founded in 1995 and currently serves as its associate director. He has been a researcher at the University of Minnesota since 1988.

Medical School names new associate dean of admissions

Dimple Patel has been named associate dean of admissions for the University of Minnesota Medical School. She will assume the role on May 13, 2013.

Patel is currently director of admissions for the University of Colorado School of Medicine; she is also completing her Ph.D. in Higher Education Policy at Colorado State University. Her master’s degree in higher education comes from Illinois State and she attended Michigan State for her undergraduate degree.