Pediatric Medical Fellowship Programs

The University of Minnesota has a commitment to leveraging the transformative power of equity and diversity to advance excellence in teaching, learning and community engagement. The Department of Pediatrics at the University of Minnesota promotes excellence in academic subspecialty training with an emphasis on producing academic leaders who generate the new knowledge required to provide the best care for infants, children, and adolescents.

We accomplish this through:

  • Recruiting fellows with outstanding academic potential and commitment.
  • Providing state-of-the-art clinical training.
  • Providing exceptional training and mentorship in basic, translational, clinical, and epidemiologic research, medical education, academic leadership, and advocacy for pediatric health.
  • Ensuring a scholarly work product during fellowship which serves to facilitate fellows' professional transition into academic faculty positions.

We are proud to offer medical fellowship programs in 17 pediatric subspecialties. Applications from individuals who self-identify as members of underrepresented groups are particularly welcome.

Academic General Pediatrics

Program Director

Dr. Iris Borowsky
borow004@umn.edu

Program Coordinator

Ismahan Abdi
abdix085@umn.edu
(612) 626-3761

Adolescent Medicine

Program Director

Dr. Nimi Singh
singh031@umn.edu

Program Coordinator 

Ismahan Abdi
abdix085@umn.edu
(612) 626-3761

Pediatric Blood & Marrow Transplantation (BMT)

Program Director

Dr. Angie Smith
smith719@umn.edu

Program Coordinator

Joyce Selle
selle003@umn.edu
(612) 626-2961

Pediatric Cardiology

Program Director

Dr. Shanti Narasimhan
silv0099@umn.edu

Program Coordinator

Ellen Jeffery
sull0380@umn.edu
(612) 626-2958

Child Abuse Pediatrics

Program Director

Dr. Nancy Harper
nsharper@umn.edu

Program Coordinator 

Sandra Streff
streff@umn.edu  
(612) 624-8903

Pediatric Critical Care

Program Director

Dr. Ashley Bjorklund
bals0064@umn.edu

Program Coordinator 

Valerie Cole
cole0430@umn.edu
(612) 624-8788

Developmental Behavioral Pediatrics

Program Director

Dr. Andrew J. Barnes
drbarnes@umn.edu

Program Coordinator 

Ismahan Abdi
abdix085@umn.edu
(612) 626-3761

Pediatric Endocrinology

Program Director 

Dr. Brandon Nathan
natha039@umn.edu

Program Coordinator

Ellen Jeffery
sull0380@umn.edu
(612) 626-2958

Pediatric Gastroenterology

Program Director

Dr. Catherine Larson-Nath
lars2698@umn.edu 

Program Coordinator 

Valerie Cole
cole0430@umn.edu

(612) 624-8788

Pediatric Hematology/Oncology

Program Director

Dr. Emily Greengard
emilyg@umn.edu

Program Coordinator

Rick Jacobson
rickj@umn.edu
(612) 626-5501

Pediatric Hospital Medicine

Program Director

Dr. Mike Pitt
mbpitt@umn.edu

Program Coordinator

Lindsey Christ
byra0002@umn.edu
(612) 626-2710

Pediatric Infectious Diseases

Program Director

Dr. Laura Norton
norto031@umn.edu

Program Coordinator 

Lindsey Christ
pedsid@umn.edu
(612) 626-2710

Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine

Program Director

Dr. Cathy Bendel
bende001@umn.edu

Program Coordinator 

Ellen Jeffery
sull0380@umn.edu
(612) 626-2958

Pediatric Nephrology

Program Director

Dr. Sarah Kizilbash
kizil010@umn.edu

Program Coordinator

Lindsey Christ
pnfellow@umn.edu
(612) 626-2710

Pediatric Obesity Medicine

Program Director

Dr. Claudia Fox
lusc0001@umn.edu

Program Coordinator

Valerie Cole
cole0430@umn.edu
(612) 624-8788

Pediatric Pulmonology

Program Director 

Dr. William Gershan
wgershan@umn.edu

Program Coordinator 

Lindsey Christ
byra0002@umn.edu 
(612) 626­-2710

Pediatric Rheumatology

Program Director

Dr. Bryce Binstadt
binstadt@umn.edu

Program Coordinator 

Sandra Streff
streff@umn.edu
(612) 625-6678