Honors & Awards

photo of AGE sculpture and description

Dr. Maria Hordinsky, Recipient of the 2022 Award for Global Engagement (AGE)

Congratulations to Professor and Chair of the Department, Dr. Maria Hordinsky, for being selected as a recipient of the 2022 Award for Global Engagement (AGE). This award is given to those faculty and staff at the University of Minnesota whose achievements and contributions to global education, research and engagement are exceptional. This honor recognizes Dr. Hordinsky's many years of outstanding international contributions.


Sexual minority identity impacts career trajectory among medical students

A study co-authored by Matthew Mansh, MD, was recently highlighted by the med school in their News and Events page, see here.

In this cross-sectional study of 58,572 graduating allopathic medical students, Drs. Mori and Mansh found that sexual minority (SM) people (e.g. lesbian, gay, or bisexual) particularly SM females, may be underrepresented in undergraduate medical training and in the pipeline towards certain medical and surgical specialties, SM females were less likely to pursue primary care specialties, and that SM diversity varied significantly between specialties - ranging from as low as 1.8% in orthopedic surgery to as high as 11.6% in psychiatry. The authors concluded that sexual orientation data collection should be standardized in all physician workforce surveys and SM diversity considered in undergraduate and graduate medical training recruitment to promote diverse physician workforce across all specialties.


Harold Ellis Prize

Congratulations to Dr. Paul Bigliardi, Professor, for being awarded the winnder of the Harold Ellis Prize for his article, Povidone Iodine in Wound Healing: A Review of Current Concepts and Practices." The Harold Ellis Prize (est 2004) is awarded every year to the best paper published in the previous year as voted by the IJS Editorial Board. A shortlist is drawn up using download and citation data or through Editorial Board recommendations.

Check out the article here.


Board of Directors American Academy of Dermatology

The votes are in! The following candidates will take office at the conclusion of the 2021 Annual Meeting of the American Academy of Dermatology (AAD) in San Francisco, CA on March 23, 2021. Congratulations to the Department of Dermatology's Chair, Dr. Maria Hordinsky, for being elected to the Board of Directors of the AAD! The AAD is one of the largest organizations of dermatologists in the world. Founded in 1938, the AAD represents more than 20,500 dermatologists in the United States, Canada, and around the world.





Mark D. Kaufmann, MD, FAAD

Vice President-Elect
Linda F. Stein Gold, MD, FAAD

Board of Directors
April W. Armstrong, MD, MPH, FAAD
James Q. Del Rosso, DO, FAAD*
Lindy P. Fox, MD, FAAD
Maria K. Hordinsky, MD, FAAD
Jennifer Lucas, MD, FAAD

Nominating Committee Member Representative
Brett M. Coldiron, MD, FAAD*


Women’s Dermatologic Society Board of Directors

Congratulations to Dr. Ronda Farah, Assistant Professor, for being elected to serve on the Women's Dermatologic Society Board of Directors!

President (2020-2021)
Molly Hinshaw, MD

President-Elect (2020-2021)
Erin Gilbert, MD, PhD, FAAD

Vice President (2020-2021)
Jennifer Lucas, MD

Directors (2020-2024)
Seemal Desai, MD, FAAD
Ronda Farah, MD
Shari Lipner, MD, PhD, FAAD
Michi Shinohara, MD