5th-year PhD student Ben Brian (advisor: Dr. Tanya Freedman) is the recipient of three Medical School 2020 awards: the Dr. Marvin and Hadassah Bacaner Research Award, the J. Jacob Kaplan Award in Clinical or Basic Medical Research, and the Veneziale-Steer Award for Research in Cellular Growth Regulation.

The Bacaner Research Award recognizes creative research, is offered annually to graduate students in the basic science fields of biochemistry, molecular biology, and biophysics; genetics, cell biology, and development; microbiology, immunology, and cancer biology (MICaB); pharmacology; and integrative biology & physiology. An award is also offered annually in cardiology. The Dr. Marvin and Hadassah Bacaner Research Awards program encourages intellectual achievement by graduate students and is underwritten by a gift to the Foundation in memory of Jacob and Minnie Bacaner. 

The Kaplan Award is awarded annually to three of the most meritorious student papers in three fields of medicine: immunology in diagnosis and treatment of cancer; gastroenterology; and, cardiology. The awards are intended to encourage and recognize scholarly achievement in medical research by young investigators at the University of Minnesota Medical School.

Finally, the Veneziale-Steer Award honors the memory of Carlo M. Veneziale, M.D., Ph.D., professor of biochemistry at the Mayo Medical School. It was established by his former student, Randolph C. Steer, M.D., Ph.D., with whom he worked in the areas of steroid biochemistry and enzymology. The award recognizes outstanding basic scientific research by a graduate student or a medical student in the field of cellular growth regulation at the University of Minnesota Medical School, Twin Cities campus.

Congratulations, Ben!