Dr. Dusenbery

The Department of Radiation Oncology in the University of Minnesota Medical School is made up of two divisions: Radiation Physics and Radiation Biology and Molecular Cancer Therapeutics. We educate medical students, physicians, radiation technologists, physicists, and the public regarding cancer prevention, treatment, research, and advocacy. In our research, we focus on developing state-of-the-art research models that can be translated into clinical trials.

  • 8 Radiation Oncologists
  • 8 Medical Physicists
  • 8 Residents
  • 19 Graduate Students


The mission of the Department of Radiation Oncology is to conduct high-quality education, cutting-edge basic and clinical research, and provide excellent patient care. The department is committed to and serves the broader mission established by the University of Minnesota Academic Health Center to be a leader in the ethical, innovative, and efficient discovery and dissemination of knowledge to enhance the health and well-being of people in Minnesota, the nation, and the world.

5 residents in white coats

Our Trainees

We admit talented trainees into our Medical Physics and Medical Residency Programs and our Medical Physics Graduate Program.

Doctor Ferriera

Our Faculty

Our faculty are committed, compassionate physicians and physicists who treat patients and conduct cancer-related research.


Our Department Head

Stephanie Terezakis, M.D. is Head of the Department and Professor.