The Department of Anesthesiology is excited to announce Dr. Susanne Rupert as our next Academic Division Director and Medical Director of Obstetric Anesthesiology at the M Health Fairview University of Minnesota Medical Center. Her new roles are effective April 1, 2023.

Dr. Susanne Rupert earned her doctorate at the University of Iowa and completed her residency in anesthesiology here at the University of Minnesota. Dr. Rupert was the first division director of obstetric anesthesiology for the Department of Anesthesiology. Since returning to the University of Minnesota, she has been actively involved with resident and fellow education and training in the obstetric setting and is highly regarded in the subspecialty.

Dr. Ferne Braveman received her doctorate from McGill University and completed her residency at Brigham and Women's Hospital. She's also fellowship trained in obstetrical anesthesia from Brigham and Women's Hospital.

During Dr. Braveman's time as the Director of Obstetric Anesthesiology, she expanded our clinical obstetric care as well as successfully lead the process for reaccreditation by the Society for Obstetric Anesthesia and Perinatology as a Center of Excellence. She also improved our resident and fellow obstetrical training.

Dr. Braveman will continue to be clinically active at the University of Minnesota and will also continue to serve as a mentor to our faculty, fellows, residents, and medical students.