Residents with the University of Minnesota Department of Anesthesiology took to Omaha, NE, for the 2024 Midwest Anesthesia Resident Conference. The conference brings residents, fellows, faculty, and students from 37 anesthesiology departments around the Midwest to present unique and medically challenging cases and describe novel research and quality improvement projects.

This year, five of our residents and one of our participating medical students placed in the variety of awards presented each year. They were recognized for the cases and projects they have been working on.

Enrique Vergara Escudero, MD
First Place - Research 
John Cahir, MD
Third Place - Critical Care
Bukola Toyobo, MD, MBA
Second Place - Obstetrics
Sierra Trost, MD
Third Place - Critical Care
Jesse White, MD
First Place - Pediatrics
Hleuchy Vang
First Place - Airway

Congratulations to our award winners for this recognition and all of their hard work!