Congratulations to our 2023 departmental education award winners!

  • Kennedy Teaching Award: Jessica Goldstein, MD - Associate Program Director, Neurology Residency
  • John R. Gates Award: Grace Tobin, MD
  • "Bronze Brain" Residents' Choice Teaching Award: Edward Labin, MD - HCMC

The Kennedy Award is intended to recognize teachers who embody the essential elements of outstanding teaching, positive role modeling, dedication to teaching, and educational scholarship. This award was presented to Dr. Goldstein by Dr. Howell, Vice Chair for Education. 

The John R. Gates Award is intended to recognize a University of Minnesota neurology resident who “exhibits the qualities that were the hallmarks of Dr. Gates, as a physician and as a person." Dr. Gates was a neurologist, patient advocate and force of nature who founded the Minnesota Epilepsy Group and had an international reputation in epilepsy. This award was presented to Dr. Tobin by Dr. Schmalstieg, Residency Program Director.

We also want to congratulate Edward Labin for receiving the Bronze Brain which is given to the 2023 Resident Choice Teaching Award Recipient. This award was presented by Dr. Mai Kau Yang, Chief Resident for Education.

On top of these accomplishments, certificates of recognition were given out to our chief residents (presented by Dr. Schmalstieg). The awards were given to Grace Tobin, MD, for Administration, Nikita Khetarpal, MD, for Academic Affairs, and Mai Kau Yang, MD, for Education. 

Well done everyone!