Awards and Recognition


Targeting Cognition and Motivation in Coordinated Specialty Care for Early Psychosis
Department Head Sophia Vinogradov, MD, PhD, is Principal Investigator for this $2.4M grant from the National Institute of Mental Health.


Precision Psychiatry: Bringing Brain Science and Measurement-based Care to the Clinic
Department Head Sophia Vinogradov, MD, PhD, leads this $1,173,536.00 grant from the Lynne and Andrew Redleaf Foundation.


Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation to Augment Behavior Therapy for Tics
Primary PI Christine Conelea, PhD, LP, is overseeing this $1,248,895.00 NIH/NIMH grant designed to help young patients with tic disorder.

Clinical Simulation Initiative Grant
Dr. Tolu Odebunmi
, Dr. Rachel Kay, and Dr. Christina Warner, PGY2 residents, were awarded a 2020 American Directors of Medical Student Education in Psychiatry Clinical Simulation Initiative Development Grant. 


Monato Essay Prize winner
Resident Dr. Brooke Resch has been awarded the annual Hermes Monato, Jr. Prize by the Rural Wisconsin Health Cooperative. The $2,500 prize is given annually for the best rural health paper. Her award-winning essay, “Grandpa Needs Help,” is on page 5.

Federation of Medicine Cannabis Task Force
Lucien Gonzalez, MD,
has been nominated to serve as a state representative on the Federation of Medicine Cannabis Task Force. The task force was created in 2019 to first evaluate and then disseminate relevant scientific evidence about cannabis to health care providers and the public.


Control Network Neuromodulation to Enhance Cognitive Training in Complex Traumatic Brain Injury
Nicholas Davenport, PhD, is the Principal Investigator (PI), and Mo Chen, PhD; and Scott Spondheim, PhD, Co-PIs on this $1.7M Department of Defense grant.


Graduate Medical Education Committee
Dr. Breanna Engleson was elected by her peers to be a member of the University of Minnesota Graduate Medical Education Committee (GMEC). She was appointed to fill a one-year Trainee Representative GMEC member seat with an annual option to be reappointed through August 2023.


Early Career Award
Lora Wichser, MD,
has been awarded an Early Career Development Award from the Academic Association of Psychiatry.

APA guidelines
Kaz Nelson, MD,
was invited by the American Psychiatric Association (APA) to be part of a group that will help develop a new practice guideline for treating borderline personality disorder. The goal is to publish in 2022.


University of Minnesota Researchers Awarded $6.6M to Develop New Device to Treat Mental Health Disorders
Principal investigator Alik Widge, MD, PhD, is using methods of syncing and unsyncing brain waves to develop a novel, human-ready neuromodulation device for people with mental health disorders. He is working with medical device development expert Dr. Gregory Molnar, and expert in signal processing circuits for brain implants Dr. Mahsa Shoaran, of the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Lausanne, Switzerland. Learn more.


Leadership/Diversity Fellows
Dr. Stephanie Wick was named a 2020-2022 American Psychiatric Association/American Psychiatric Association Foundation (APA/APAF) Leadership Fellow, and resident Dr. Rebecca Grossman-Kahn was named a 2020-2022 APA/APAF Diversity Leadership Fellow. These fellowships give psychiatry residents the experiential learning, training, and professional development they need to be leaders in their field.

American Academy of Pediatrics Subcommittee
Lucien Gonzalez, MD,
has been invited to join the behavioral and mental health subcommittee of the American Academy of Pediatrics partnership with the Health Resources and Services Administration Maternal and Child Health Bureau. As a member, Dr. Gonzalez will help guide assessment, planning, implementation, and evaluation of projects.


ACNP Travel Awards
Anna Zilverstand, PhD, and Michelle Corkrum were selected as Travel Awardees to the American College of Neuropsychopharmacology (ACNP) for the December 6-9, 2020, Annual Meeting. They also won in-person travel award benefits to attend the 2021 Annual Meeting, December 5-8, at the San Juan Convention Center in Puerto Rico.


Center for Neural Circuits in Addiction grant
Anna Zilverstand, PhD,
is part of a $9.9M National Institutes on Drug Abuse grant awarded to the U to establish the Center for Neural Circuits in Addiction. She is part of a team that will create a large data computational platform that integrates findings across many types of experimental studies to reveal the relationships between exposure to addictive drugs, brain circuits and addictive behavior. Learn more about this exciting work!


New Faculty Senate Member
Sasha Zagoloff, PhD, LP, was elected by her peers to represent the Medical School in the Faculty Senate. She will join 10 other faculty in the 2020-2023 cohort. We also acknowledge the work that Dr. Matt Kushner has done as a current member of the Senate


Rappeport Fellowship
Dr. Laura Sloan
was awarded the Rappeport Fellowship by the American Academy of Psychiatry and the Law. This is the highest award given to a resident in forensic psychiatry in the country. It is also the first time a resident from Minnesota has received it.


NIMH Conte Center Grant
A new $15 million Silvio O. Conte Center grant from the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) has given lead researchers,
Department of Neuroscience Distinguished McKnight University Professor David Redish, PhD, and Department of Psychiatry and Behavorial Sciences Professor and Head Sophia Vinogradov, MD, PhD, the green light at the University of Minnesota Medical School to conduct a new type of research that could reveal better ways to treat one of the most mysterious mental health diagnoses — psychosis. The U joins only a handful of other Conte Centers across the country. Learn more.


Exemplary Psychiatrist Award
Katie Cullen, MD, received a 2020 NAMI Exemplary Psychiatrist Award. This award is given at the national level to psychiatrists who have advocated for access to care, research, and community education programs; and who are recognized as providing compassionate and comprehensive treatment to people with mental illness.


Distinguished Teaching Award
Lora Wichser
, MD, was selected by the Medical School Honors and Awards Committee to receive the Distinguished Teaching Award, Year 3 - 4. This award is highly competitive and recognizes individuals with superior teaching skills.

Humanism and Excellence in Teaching Award
Dr. Glen Rebman
won the Humanism and Excellence in Teaching Award, which is given to six resident-physicians recognized for their exceptional teaching skills and commitment.


Outstanding Graduate Faculty in Psychology Award
Aimee Murray
, PsyD, LP, received the 2020 Minnesota Psychological Association's Outstanding Graduate Faculty in Psychology Award. This annual award is given to one Minnesota psychology educator based on nomination letters, letters of support from past trainees, and student evaluations.


McKnight Land Grant Professorship
Alik Widge, MD, PhD, was selected for a University of Minnesota McKnight Land Grant Professorship, a two-year award designed to advance the careers of exceptional junior faculty. The professorship includes research funding, most of which can be used at Dr. Widge’s discretion.

Early Career Investigator Domestic Travel Fellowship Awards
Alex Herman, PhD; Ian Ramsay, PhD,
and Gerson Guercio received Early Career Investigator - Domestic 2020 Society of Biological Psychiatry Travel Fellowship Awards to attend the annual meeting of the Society of Biological Psychiatry.