Ovarian Cancer Midwest Focus

OCMF 2020



Thursday, November 5th, 2020
(Central Time Zone)
   8:00 - 8:40 am       Organoids to model human disease  -  Dr. Hans Clevers, Hubrecht Institute for Developmental Biology & Stem Cell Research
   8:40 - 9:20 am       Ovarian cancer prevention and early detection  -  Dr. Douglas Levine, New York University Langone
   9:20 -10:00 am      Molecular Assessment of Circulating Extracellular Vesicles Towards Liquid Biopsy Diagnosis and Early Detection of Ovarian Cancer
                                    -  Dr. Andrew Godwin, University of Kansas Medical Center
   10:00 - 11:00 am   Abstract Presentations
   11:00 - 11:40 am   Treatment of Advanced Ovarian Cancer Using Gene-edited NK CAR cells  -  Dr. Tim Starr, University of Minnesota
   11:40 - 12:00 am   Break
   12:00 - 12:30 pm   Lunch and Learn, Navigating Career Development and Sustainment in Ovarian Cancer Research
                                      with Dr. Patricia Modrow, Department of Defense
   12:30 - 1:00 pm     Lunch and Learn, Translational Initiative
                                      with Dr. Deepa Kolaseri, University of Minnesota
   1:00 - 1:40 pm       LRRC15 is a novel promoter of ovarian cancer metastatic dissemination  -  Dr. Viji Shridhar, Mayo Clinic
   1:40 - 2:20 pm       Ovary and Brain  -  Dr. Martina Bazzaro, University of Minnesota
   2:20 - 2:30 pm       Break
   2:30 - 3:10 pm       Effect of the germline P72R polymorphism on the mutant TP53 allele selection in human cancer  -  Dr. Jeremy Chien, University of California, Davis
   3:10 - 3:50 pm       Personalized Medicine  -  Dr. Michael Anglesio, The University of British Columbia 
   3:50 - 4:30 pm       Mechanisms of ovarian cancer metastasis to the omentum  -  Dr. Ernst Lengyel, University of Chicago
Friday, November 6th , 2020
(Central Time Zone)
   8:00 - 8:40 am       Overcoming platinum resistance in ovarian carcinoma  -  Dr. Paola Perego, National Tumor Institute of Milan, Italy
   8:40 - 9:20 am       Tumor Heterogeneity  -  Dr. Ilana Chefetz, Hormel Institute, University of Minnesota
   9:20 - 10:00 am     PARP inhibitor response in PDX models: Beyond HRD  -  Dr. John Weroha, Mayo Clinic               
   10:00 - 11:00 am   Abstract Presentations                              
   11:00 - 11:40 am   Mesenchymal stem cells are a TME lynchpin driving tumor immune suppression -  Dr. Ron Buckanovich, Magee-Womens Research Institute
   11:40 - 12:00 pm   Break
   12:00 - 12:20 pm   Lunch and Learn, How to Treat Ovarian Cancer and Clinical Trials in Japan
                                      with Dr. Akimasa Takahashi, Shiga University, Japan
   12:20 - 1:00 pm     Lunch and Learn with a Message from Our Sponsors
   1:00 - 1:10 pm       Break
   1:10 - 2:10 pm       Abstract Presentations                  
   2:10 - 3:00 pm       Early tubal precursors lead to nervous tumors  -  Dr. Ronny Drapkin, University of Pennsylvania
   3:00 - 4:00 pm       Drug resistance to ovarian cancer -  Dr. Scott Kaufmann, Mayo Clinic



The 2020 Ovarian Cancer Midwest Focus Conference will focus on basic science, translational and clinical topics on ovarian cancer, and will offer sessions on emerging topics including Early Detection, Immunotherapy, Novel Therapeutics, Metabolism, Preclinical Models of Ovarian Cancer, Personalized Medicine, Microenvironment, Epigenetics, PARP Inhibitors, Chemoresistance, Combination Therapy, Clinical Studies, Technology Commercialization, and Career Development (virtual lunch and learn).

OCMF looks to provide a collaborative environment which will allow an interdisciplinary approach to ovarian cancer research, hence a broad range of speakers and topics are actively encouraged. We seek session abstracts for oral presentations that address topic areas related to ovarian cancer research, including:

·                  Preclinical models of ovarian cancer

·                  Metabolism

·                  Novel Therapeutics

·                  Immunotherapy

·                  Personalized medicine

·                  Early detection

Selected presentations will be grouped into topical sessions.


OCMF will have invited speakers and oral presentations delivered in topical sessions.  Oral presentations are 10 minutes in length and are given in a plenary format to an interdisciplinary audience of approximately 100 attendees. Hence, the content should be interesting to a diverse audience and clearly focused to deliver two or three key points.


Submit a session proposal for oral presentation abstract.