The Division of Transplantation in the Department of Surgery has been an academic leader in organ transplantation for over 50 years and is a major part of one of the oldest and most successful transplant centers in the world. Since the 1960s, when the first successful kidney transplants in Minnesota were done at the University Hospitals, our transplant program has completed more than 13,000 organ transplants and has restored thousands of patients to health through this gift of life. Our program is one of the largest and most experienced in the country, and we have an extraordinary legacy of excellence in patient care, surgical outcomes, research and training. We've performed many "world's first" transplants, including intestinal, allo-islet cell, and pancreas—plus many more "firsts" in the state, making the University of Minnesota a preferred destination for transplant care.

Our Mission:

  1. Deliver extraodinary care to patients with end stage organ failure and to save lives through organ transplantation
  2. Continue to train future leaders in the field of transplant surgery
  3. Advance the knowledge of transplantation around the world through scholarship and research

Expand all


Professor and Chief:
Andrew Adams, MD 

Associate Professor: 
Emeritus Professor:
William D. Payne, MD


The Division of Organ Transplantation provides outstanding care, continues developing new techniques that improve organ transplantation results, and trains students, residents, and fellows in the vital surgical field of transplantation. Please visit our fellowship webpage for more details about our two-year, ASTS-accredited Abdominal Transplant Surgery Fellowship training program.


Phone: 612-625-5151
Fax: 612-624-7168

Mailing Address
University of Minnesota
Division of Transplant Surgery
420 Delaware St. SE, MMC 195
Minneapolis, MN 55455