Surgical Critical Care Fellowship

Our Surgical Critical Care Fellowship Program at the University of Minnesota is a one-year ACGME-accredited program open to physicians who have completed at least three clinical years in one of the following specialties: anesthesiology, emergency medicine (additional requirements), neurological surgery, obstetrics and gynecology, orthopaedic surgery, otolaryngology, surgery, thoracic surgery, vascular surgery or urology.

An optional second, non-accredited year is available for research opportunities. We offer a comprehensive combination of clinical experiences and research opportunities for fellows to apply new advances in critical care.

Program Overview

This fellowship program accepts up to five fellows per year. Completion qualifies the fellow to meet the current criteria for admission to the Certificate of Added Competence examination given by the American Board of Surgery.

Our program provides invaluable opportunities including: 

  • In-depth exposure to the main principles of critical care in an intense clinical and research atmosphere encompassing the range of critical care problems related to surgical diseases
  • The ability to function as a critical care surgeon at the staff level
  • Experience in administrative issues related to management of an ICU
  • The opportunity to conduct clinical and basic science research on a broad variety of interests, including treatments of sepsis, infectious diseases, acute lung injury, and cell and molecular biology of inflammation
  • Participation in a formal lecture and reading program

Visa Sponsorship

The J-1 alien physician visa sponsored by the ECFMG is the preferred visa status for foreign national trainees in all UMN graduate medical education programs; therefore, the Division of Critical Care and Acute Care Surgery sponsors only J-1 visas. We do not sponsor H-1B visas. More information on the J-1 visa can be found on the UMN-GME webpage.