Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Council

The Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Council is a governance committee. The committee includes experienced faculty, staff, students, and trainees working to address the recommendations in the Diversity and Climate Expert Panel report and establish appropriate timelines for stated goals.

Council Members


Ana Nunez, MD, Administrator Vice Dean of DEI, Medical School ODEI

Andrea Westby, MD, Faculty Assistant Professor, Family Medicine and Community Health

Anjali Goel, MD, MPH, Faculty Assistant Professor, Pediatrics

Carolina Sandoval- Garcia, MD, Faculty Assistant Professor, Neurosurgery

Catherine Bendel, MD, Faculty Associate Professor, Pediatrics

Cuong Pham, MD, Faculty Assistant Professor, Medicine

David Hamlar, MD, DDS, Faculty Assistant Professor, Otolaryngology

David Darrow, MD, MPH, Faculty Assistant Professor, Neurosurgery

Eduardo Miguel Medina, MD, Faculty Adjunct Professor, Family Medicine and Community Health

Elizabeth Rogers, MD, MAS, Faculty Assistant Professor, Medicine and Pediatrics

Jordan Lewis, PhD, MSW, Faculty Professor, Family Medicine and Biobehaviroal Health, Duluth

Katie Lingras, PhD, LP, Faculty Assistant Professor, Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences, Chair (Elected 2022)

Kumar Belani, MD, Faculty Professor, Anesthesiology

Michael LuBrant, PhD, Faculty Assistant Professor, Program Director of Mortuary Science

Michelle Allen, MD, MS, Faculty Associate Professor, Family Medicine and Community Health

Miguel Fiol, MD, Faculty Associate Professor, Neurology

Rahel Nardos, MD, MCR, Faculty Assistant Professor, Obstetrics, Gynecology & Women's Health

Ricardo Battaglino, PhD, Faculty Professor, Rehabilitation Medicine

Sarah Lacher, PhD, Faculty Assistant Professor, Biomedical Science, Duluth

Selma Carlson, MD, Faculty Assistant Professor, Medicine

Shahnaz Sultan, MD, MHSC, AGAF, Faculty Associate Professor, Medicine

Sima Patel, MD, Faculty Assistant Professor, Neurology

Susan Everson-Rose, PhD, MPH, Faculty Professor, Medicine

Aaron Corfield, MD, Faculty Assistant Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery

Andrea DreyFuss, Faculty Assistant Professor, Emergency Medicine

Briana Motely Partee, PT, DPT, Faculty Assistant Professor, Rehabilitation Medicine

Carrie Ann Terrell, MD, Faculty Associate Professor, Obstetrics, Gynecology & Women's Health


Alejandra Watkins-Melgarejo, Staff Program Associate, Emergency Medicine

Alyssa Dindorf, Staff Marketing and Communication Specialist, Medical School Dean Office, Duluth

Dimple Patel, Staff Associate, Dean Admissions

Gina Finical, Staff Coordinator, Pediatrics

Ismahan Abdi, Staff Division Administrator, Pediatrics

Kait Macheledt, Staff Program Specialist, Center for Women in Medicine & Science

Maikha Xiong, Staff Executive Administrative and Office Specialist, Rehabilitation Medicine

Mehnca Dahnkuam, Staff Program Specialist, Pediatrics

Michon Peterson, Staff Admin. Cnst/Analyst, Medicine

Shivjot Singh, Staff Research Professional, Pediatriacs

Urszula Parfieniuk, Staff Pre-Award Grant and Research Comm. Coordinator, Family Medicine and Community Health

Liz Sopdie, PhD, Staff Director, Rural Physician Associate Program


Anam Hasan, Medical Student MS3 - Twin Cities

Gerardo Ramirez, Medical Student MS2- Twin Cities

Koushik Paul, Medical Student MS2 - Duluth

Michael Schroeder-Toya, Medical Student MS4 - Duluth

Mikael Mir, Medical Student MS3 - Duluth

Sally Jeon, Medical Student MS3 - Twin Cities

Anwei Gwan, MD, MPH, MS Resident Resident Physician

Michael Schroeder-Toya, Medical Resident for Family Medicine & Community Health - Twin Cities

Alessandra Joseph, Medical Student - Twin Cities