Call for Nominations for Governance Councils and Committees

The new constitution and bylaws have been approved and posted on the College Constitutions and Bylaws site

We are seeking faculty nominations for the following positions:

  • Appointment, Promotion and Tenure Council (APTC) - 3 elected positions

  • Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Council (DEIC) - 5 elected positions

  • Medical Student Admissions Committee (MSAC) - 15 elected positions

  • Medical Student Education Committee (MSEC) - 3 elected positions

  • Medical Student Scholastic Standing Committee (MSSSC) - 3 elected positions

  • Faculty Senate - 3 open positions remaining to be filled

Deadline extended: Nominations for Governance Committees | Due Aug. 23
We have extended the deadline for open faculty positions on Medical School governance councils and committees, and the Faculty Senate. Please consider volunteering for a position by submitting a short bio and a statement about why you are interested in serving on the committee.

Elected members will serve 3 year terms (terms retroactive to Jul. 1, 2021). Committee information is detailed within the bylaws.

  1. Medical School constitution (approved July 2021)

  2. Medical School bylaws (approved July 2021

  3. Councils organizational chart

  4. Committees organizational chart

Constitution and Bylaws Interpretations & FAQs

These documents will be updated on the University's College Constitutions & Bylaws site. 

Faculty Assembly

The Faculty Assembly is an integral part of the Medical School. It opens doors for faculty to be engaged in its diverse affairs. Through the Faculty Assembly, faculty work collectively to pursue excellence and achieve the Medical School’s mission: to enhance the health of people by educating skilled, compassionate and socially responsible physicians.

The Faculty Assembly is responsible for all academic affairs and internal policies of the Medical School, including entrance requirements, curricula, instruction, examinations, grading, degrees and disciplinary matters not within the jurisdiction of the All-University Disciplinary Committee.

Meeting at least once a year, the Faculty Assembly also receives reports and recommendations from the various councils and committees established in the Medical School’s Constitution and Bylaws.

2018 Faculty Assembly & Vote

Faculty Advisory Council

A subset of faculty serves on the Faculty Advisory Council. It advises the dean—frequently and often on short notice—on strategic planning, short and long-term goals, Medical School programs and more.

Members of the council are Medical School faculty members from the Twin Cities and Duluth campuses who were elected by their peers to the All-University Senate. Currently, more than 40 faculty from across the Medical School and its affiliates serve on the council.

  • Responsibilities
  • Members
  • Meetings
  • Notes
  • Reports