Pediatric Medical Fellowship Programs

The University of Minnesota has a commitment to leveraging the transformative power of equity and diversity to advance excellence in teaching, learning and community engagement. The Department of Pediatrics at the University of Minnesota promotes excellence in academic subspecialty training with an emphasis on producing academic leaders who generate the new knowledge required to provide the best care for infants, children, and adolescents.

We accomplish this through:

  • Recruiting fellows with outstanding academic potential and commitment.
  • Providing state-of-the-art clinical training.
  • Providing exceptional training and mentorship in basic, translational, clinical, and epidemiologic research, medical education, academic leadership, and advocacy for pediatric health.
  • Ensuring a scholarly work product during fellowship which serves to facilitate fellows' professional transition into academic faculty positions.

We are proud to offer medical fellowship programs in 18 pediatric subspecialties. Applications from individuals who self-identify as members of underrepresented groups are particularly welcome.

Academic General Pediatrics

Program Director
Dr. Iris Borowsky
borow004@umn.edu

Program Coordinator
Lindsey Christ
byra0002@umn.edu
(612) 626­-2710

Adolescent Medicine

Program Director
Dr. Nimi Singh
singh031@umn.edu

Program Coordinator 
Lindsey Christ
byra0002@umn.edu
(612) 626­-2710

Pediatric Blood and Marrow Transplantation

Program Director
Dr. Troy Lund
lundx072@umn.edu

Program Coordinator
Gina Finical
finical@umn.edu
(612) 625-3255

Pediatric Cardiology

Program Director
Dr. Shanti Narasimhan
silv0099@umn.edu

Program Coordinator
Michelle Stepka
mstepka@umn.edu
(612) 624-4912

Child Abuse Pediatrics

Program Director
Dr. Nancy Harper
nsharper@umn.edu

Program Coordinator 
Valerie Cole
cole0430@umn.edu 
(612) 626-2958

Pediatric Critical Care

Program Director
Dr. Ashley Bjorklund
bals0064@umn.edu

Program Coordinator 
Valerie Cole
cole0430@umn.edu
(612) 624-8788

Developmental Behavioral Pediatrics

Program Director
Dr. Andrew J. Barnes
drbarnes@umn.edu

Program Coordinator 
Valerie Cole
cole0430@umn.edu
(612) 624-8788

Pediatric Endocrinology

Program Director 
Dr. Muna Sunni
sunni001@umn.edu

Program Coordinator
Michelle Stepka
mstepka@umn.edu
(612) 624-4912

Pediatric Gastroenterology

Program Director
Dr. Catherine Larson-Nath
lars2698@umn.edu 

Program Coordinator 
Michelle Stepka
mstepka@umn.edu
(612) 624-4912

Pediatric Hematology/Oncology

Program Director
Dr. Emily Greengard
emilyg@umn.edu

Program Coordinator
Gina Finical
finical@umn.edu
612-625-3255

Pediatric Hospital Medicine

Program Director
Dr. Mike Pitt
mbpitt@umn.edu

Program Coordinator
Valerie Cole
cole0430@umn.edu
(612) 626-2958

Pediatric Infectious Diseases

Program Director
Dr. Laura Norton
norto031@umn.edu

Program Coordinator 
Valerie Cole
cole0430@umn.edu
(612) 626-2958

Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine

Program Director
Dr. Cathy Bendel
bende001@umn.edu

Program Coordinator 
Gina Finical
finical@umn.edu
(612) 625-3255

Pediatric Nephrology

Program Director
Dr. Sarah Kizilbash
kizil010@umn.edu

Program Coordinator
Lindsey Christ
pnfellow@umn.edu
(612) 626-2710

Pediatric Neuro-Oncology

Program Director 
Dr. Christopher Moertel
moert001@umn.edu

Program Coordinator 
Gina Finical
finical@umn.edu
612-625-3255

Pediatric Obesity Medicine

Program Director
Dr. Claudia Fox
lusc0001@umn.edu

Program Coordinator
Michelle Stepka
mstepka@umn.edu
(612) 624-4912

Pediatric Pulmonology

Program Director 
Dr. Helena Molero
hmolero@umn.edu

Program Coordinator 
Lindsey Christ
byra0002@umn.edu 
(612) 626­-2710

Pediatric Rheumatology

Program Director
Dr. Bryce Binstadt
binstadt@umn.edu

Program Coordinator 
Valerie Cole
cole0430@umn.edu
(612) 626-2958