Elizabeth Seaquist

Associate Dean for Medical Specialties and Primary Care
Nesbitt Chair and Head, Department of Medicine
Professor of Medicine, Diabetes, Endocrinology and Metabolism
Faculty, Program in Integrative Biology and Physiology, PhD
Co-Director, Institute for Diabetes, Obesity, and Metabolism
Associate Dean, Medical Specialties and Primary Care


Dr. Elizabeth Seaquist is the Nesbitt Chair and Head of the Department of Medicine. Awards recognizing her research and mentoring include the American Diabetes Association’s Transformative Woman in Diabetes Award in 2019 and the Albert Renold Award for Mentoring in 2020. She served as the President for Medicine and Science of the American Diabetes Association in 2014. As a clinical investigator, Dr. Seaquist is interested in hypoglycemia and the complications of diabetes. Her research focuses on the effect of diabetes on brain metabolism, structure, and function. She was the site investigator for the Action to Control Cardiovascular Risk in Diabetes (ACCORD) trial, the Glycemia Reduction Approaches in Diabetes: A Comparative Effectiveness Study (GRADE) study, and the Researching Cardiovascular Events with a Weekly Incretin in Diabetes (REWIND) study. She has an active clinical practice and is board certified in Internal Medicine and Endocrinology, Diabetes, and Metabolism.

Research Summary

  • Impact of diabetes on cerebral structure and function
  • Hypoglycemia in diabetes

Clinical Trials

  • Cerebral Responses to Insulin-Induced Hypoglycemia
  • Effect of Recurrent Hypoglycemia

Clinical Summary

  • Management of type 1 and type 2 diabetes
  • Complications of diabetes
  • Hypoglycemia in diabetes


MD, University of Minnesota

Fellowships, Residencies, and Visiting Engagements

Internal Medicine Residency,
University of Minnesota
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Endocrinology and Metabolism Fellowship,
University of Minnesota Medical School
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States

Honors and Recognition

Albert Renold Award, American Diabetes Association
Lois Jovanovic Transformative Woman in Diabetes Award, American Diabetes Association
Inductee, AHC Academy for Excellence in Team Science, University of Minnesota
Bruce Zimmerman Diabetes Award, American Diabetes Association and the Minnesota Department of Health Diabetes Unit
Inductee, AHC Academy for Excellence in Health Research, University of Minnesota
President of Medicine and Science, American Diabetes Association
Mentor of the Year, University of Minnesota Clinical and Translational Science Institute
Distinguished Alumni Award, University of Minnesota Medical School
Distinguished Clinical Scientist Award, American Diabetes Association
Carole J. Bland Outstanding Faculty Mentor Award, University of Minnesota Medical School
Fellow, Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine, Drexel University College of Medicine
Listed in Mpls. St. Paul Magazine Top Doctors (2003-2020)
Listed in Minneapolis St. Paul Business Journal Top Doctors (2011)
Listed in Guide to America’s Top Physicians (2013)
Listed in superdoctors.com Super Doctors (2013)
Listed in Minnesota Monthly Magazine Best Doctors (2014-2021)
Listed in Minnesota Monthly Magazine Best Doctors for Women (2011-2020)
Listed in Best Doctors in America (2001-2017)
Listed in Top Doctors Exceptional Women in Medicine (2019-2020)

Professional Memberships

International Hypoglycemia Study Group
Association of Specialty Professors
Endocrine Society
European Association for the Study of Diabetes
American Diabetes Association


Administrative Contact

Name: Denise Jackson
Phone: 612-625-3654
Email: jacksond@umn.edu
Fax: 612-626-3107
Mail: 420 Delaware Street SE, MMC 194, Minneapolis, MN 55455