meded dom
Medical Education

The Department is an innovative leader in medical education and has developed new, exciting curricula for medical student and resident education.

Patient Care

Our expert physicians work together and collaborate across specialties to offer access to state-of-the art medical treatments and clinical trials.

Research Dom

The Department of Medicine is one of the top research departments in the United States and represents the largest research faculty group at the University of Minnesota. 

Elizabeth Seaquist, MD

Elizabeth Seaquist, MD, Department Chair

"I am deeply honored to serve as Nesbitt Chair and Head of the Department of Medicine and look forward to working alongside you to advance our missions of research, education, and clinical care while we continue our work to become a more diverse, caring, and inclusive community."

Dr. Seaquist was appointed Chair of the Department of Medicine on September 2, 2022. Read more about her in a recent Press Release

Blue Ridge Institute for Medical Research Ranking Places Medicine at #37!

Blue Ridge Institute for Medical Research Ranking Places Medicine at #37

We are thrilled to announce that our department secured the prestigious position of #37 in the 2023 Blue Ridge Institute for Medical Research Rankings, maintaining our funding at an impressive $48 million.

Alejandra Gutierrez Bernal, MD has been named Associate Director of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) for the Cardiovascular Division.


The Comprehensive Hypertension Center–a multidisciplinary collaboration between Nephrology, Cardiology and Endocrinology–opened this month at the Clinics and Surgery Center (CSC).


We are pleased to announce Chris Wendt, MD, as the incoming Vice Chair for Research for the Department of Medicine, starting June 1, 2024.

Kristi White, PhD, ABPP with the University of Minnesota Medical School and M Health Fairview speaks about the mental health impacts of climate change, common triggers and how to cope with this type of anxiety.
Press Release

We are proud to announce 26 Department of Medicine faculty were named to Mpls.St.Paul Magazine’s 2024 Top Doctors: Rising Stars Edition! The list recognizes up-and-coming physicians for outstanding achievements in their first decade as professionals