We are proud to celebrate the following physicians who have received the 2022 Award for Clinical Excellence from the Office of Graduate Medical Education. This award is presented for distinguished patient care and service as observed and recommended by University of Minnesota Physician peers. Please join us in wishing the 2022 honorees our warmest congratulations.  

2022 Clinical Excellence Honorees by Division

Expand all


Mudassar Ahmed, MD

Tamas Alexy, MD

Jason Bartos, MD

Rebecca Cogswell, MD

Andrea Elliott, MD

Eric Ernst, MD

Sergey Gurevich, MD

Abdi Jama, MD

Rajat Kalra, MBChB

Suma Konety, MD

Christine Lange, MD

Jeremy Markowitz, MD

Felipe Kazmirczak, MD

Kurt Prins, MD

Henri Roukoz, MD

Chetan Shenoy, MBBS

Thenappan Thenappan, MD

Mitchell Timmons, DO

Amila William, MD


Diabetes, Endocrinology and Metabolism

Takako Araki, MD

Lisa Chow, MD

Susanne Trost, MD


Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition

Nabeel Azeem, MD

Alexander Khoruts, MD

Thomas Leventhal, MD

Nicholas Lim, MB

James Mallery, MD

Eugenia Shmidt, MD

Guru Trikudanathan, MBBS

Byron Vaughn, MD

Kimberly Viskocil. MD

James Wise, MD

Stuart Amateau, MD

Martin Freeman, MD

Joshua Sloan, DO

Mary Thomson, MD


Geriatrics, Palliative and Primary Care

Michael Aylward, MD

Aarti Bhatt, MD

David Macomber, MD

Megan Petrik, PhD

Heather Thompson Buum, MD


Hematology, Oncology and Transplantation

Joan Beckman, MD

Heather Beckwith, MD

Anne Blaes, MD

Stuart Bloom, MD

Evidio Domingo-Musibay, MD

Naomi Fujioka, MD

Arjun Gupta, MBBS

Emil Lou, MD

Marshall Mazepa, MD

Jeffrey Miller, MD

Mark Reding, MD

Greg Vercellotti, MD

Douglas Yee, MD

Nicholas Zorko, MD


Expand all

Hospital Medicine

Adriana Dhawan, MD

Jessica Hane, MD

Sameh Hozayen, MD

Shahidali Jaffer, MD

Ryan Kelly, MD

Kathleen Lane, MD

Erica Levine, MD

Julia Lister, MD

Taj Mustapha, MD

Andrew Olson, MD

Cuong Pham, MD

Melissa Plesac, MD

Benjamin Webber, MD



Infectious Diseases and International Medicine

Mahsa Abassi, DO

Archana Bhaskaran, MBBS

Suk Yin Chan-Colenbrander, MD

Ana Caterina De Oliveira Virgens Paim, MD

Lauren Fontana, DO

Alison Galdys, MD

Anne-Marie Leuck, MD

Karam Obeid, MD


Nephrology and Hypertension

Adam Bregman, MD

Katti Woerner, MD


Pulmonary, Allergy, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine

Bimaje Akpa, MBBS

Abbie Begnaud, MD

Hem Desai, MBBS

Sarah Kiel, MD

Jagadish Patil, MBBS

Ronald Reilkoff, MD


Rheumatic and Autoimmune Diseases

Parastoo Fazeli, MD

Sahar Lotfi-Emran, MD

Jerry Molitor, MD

Luke Monteagudo, MD

Erik Peterson, MD