Faculty Accomplishments

GI Division Faculty Honored with Office of Graduate Medical Education Clinical Teaching Excellence Awards

Dr. Shahnaz Sultan, Dr. Nabeel Azeem, and Dr. Kristin McBeath were awarded the Clinical Teaching Excellence Award. This award is granted annually to clinical faculty who have scored in the top 10% on the standardized trainee evaluation of faculty performance administered by the Office of Graduate Medical Education during the past academic year.

M Physicians Clinical Excellence Honorees

M Physicians’ Clinical Excellence Program honors those nominated for excellence in their clinical practice. The GI Division had 19 recipients of this award: Dr. Stuart Amateau, Dr. Nabeel Azeem, Dr. Martin Freeman, Dr. Justin Howard, Dr. Alexander Khoruts, Dr. Thomas Leventhal, Dr. Nicholas Lim, Dr. James Mallery, Dr. Eugenia Shmidt, Dr. Joshua Sloan, Dr. Mary Thomson, Dr. Guru Trikudanathan, Dr. Byron Vaughn, Dr. Kimberly Viskocil, Dr. James Wise, Amanda Hjeltness, Andrea Pitzl, Hanaa Tahir, and Jessica Stangenes

GI Fellowship Program appoints two new Associate Program Directors

The GI Fellowship Program has appointed two new Associate Program Directors from the VA, Dr. Jennifer Haglund and Dr. Mohammad Bilal.

Dr. Thomas Leventhal received Educational Excellence Award

Dr. Thomas Leventhal was honored with the University of Minnesota Medical School Department of Medicine’s Educational Excellence Award at the Fall Faculty Recognition Reception.

Dr. Alexander Khoruts recognized as a 2022 Clarivate Highly Cited Researcher

Dr. Alexander Khoruts is one of 30 UMN Twin Cities investigators across disciplines who received this honor. This group is recognized by Clarivate for their exceptional research influence, demonstrated by the production of multiple highly-cited papers that rank in the top 1% by citations for field and year in the Web of Science. In 2022, fewer than 7,000, or about 0.1%, of the world's researchers have earned this exclusive distinction.