The Awards Committee and Board of Trustees of the American College of Cardiology has selected Professor Jay N. Cohn, MD with its prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition of his outstanding achievements in the field of cardiovascular disease. Dr. Cohn accepted this award on May 17th, 2021 at the Convocation of the College's 70th Annual Scientific Session in Atlanta, GA. Only 12 other cardiologists have received this award; in accepting this honor Dr. Cohn joins the likes of Aldo R. Castañeda, MD, PhD, Valentin Fuster, MD, PhD, and Martin B. Leon, MD (read the full list). This is not the first time Dr. Cohn has been recognized by the ACC; he was also honored with a Distinguished Scientist Award in 2005.

Dr. Cohn joined the University of Minnesota in 1974 as Chair of the Cardiovascular Division and served in this position through 1996. During his tenure as Chair the division established Interventional Cardiology clinical and fellowship programs, a Cardiac Electrophysiology fellowship program, and the Twin Cities' first center for treating heart rhythm disorders. Dr. Cohn also oversaw the first clinical trials of cardiac resynchronization therapy, Minnesota's first procedure to measure coronary blood flow, the world's first tilt-table testing to study syncope, and the first large-scale trials of drug therapy for heart failure (the V-HEFT trials). During his continued tenure in the division he established the Rasmussen Center for Cardiovascular Disease Prevention and an accompanying CV Disease Prevention fellowship program. Dr. Cohn retired to Professor Emeritus in the autumn of 2020.

Please join us in congratulating Dr. Cohn on his receipt of this singular honor.