Continuous Quality Improvement Initiative

The Continuous Quality Improvement (CQI) Initiative fosters an environment where the medical school is engaging in a continuous and intentional process aimed at supporting educational program improvement, contributing to positive outcomes during accreditation review, and meeting the Liaison for Medical Education (LCME) accreditation requirement:

Element 1.1: Strategic Planning and Continous Quality Improvement

“A medical school engages in ongoing planning and continuous quality improvement processes that establish short and long-term programmatic goals, result in the achievement of measurable outcomes used to improve programmatic quality, and ensure effective monitoring of the medical education program’s compliance with accreditation standards."

Areas of monitoring that form the basis for continuous quality improvement (CQI) efforts include:

    • Identification of risk areas based on current LCME Standards and Elements
    • Ongoing citations of Standards or Elements from previous accreditation visit
    • Institutional strategic planning objectives that impact the medical education program, services, or resources in such instances where they overlap or align with accreditation standards

A key part of the Initiative is the maintenance of a Continuous Quality Improvement Committee charged with monitoring compliance with the Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME) accreditation standards and elements. The Committee will identify both long- and short-term goals, implement a systematic process to collect and review data, and disseminate outcomes to appropriate leadership and administration.

During Preparations for an LCME site review and self-study, members of the CQI Committee are also expected to serve on the LCME Executive Task Force.


Committee Membership

Mark Rosenberg, MD, Vice Dean for Education & Academic Affairs (Chair)
Sydney Boike, MS3
Austin Calhoun, PhD, Chief of Staff, Office of Medical Education
Susan Culican, MD, PhD, Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education
Robert Englander, MD, MPH, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Medical Education
Tom Hays, MD, Department Head, Genetics, Cell Biology, and Development
Christine Kiel, Administrative Director, Dean's Office
Emily Lawrence, Chief of Staff, Dean's Office
Peter Nalin, MD, Associate Dean for Rural Medicine
Ali Niesen, Project Manager -  Office of Undergraduate Medical Education
Ana Núñez, MD, Vice Dean for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
Joseph Oppedisano, DAc, Director of Accreditation and Quality Improvement
Dimple Patel, MS, Associate Dean for Admissions – Twin Cities
Denise Quintanilla, MS3
Ezgi Tiryaki, MD, Department of Neurology


CQI Working Group

The CQI Steering Committee also includes a Working Group, led by the Director of Accreditation and Continuous Quality Improvement, responsible for working with key stakeholders to address identified priorities, and developing status reports to medical school leadership.

For more information about the LCME, visit  

For questions about the CQI Initiative, contact Joseph Oppedisano, DAc, Director of Accreditation and Quality Improvement at 


CQI Committee Meeting Minutes