Monthly Student Meetings

The student-organized MSTP monthly meetings are held on the second Monday of each month. Meetings will cover a range of topics, including science/research presentations by students and faculty guest speakers, career development discussions and panels, networking opportunities with other physician scientists, and social activities. These meetings will also provide students with updates on the Program and the Medical School, and an opportunity to provide feedback to the Director and MSTP Student Advisory Committee on program activities. The monthly program meetings are an essential element of the MSTP and attendance by all MSTP students is mandatory.

2019-2020 schedule

Monday, September 16, 2019
Research Presentations:
-Kevin Lin
-Erik Faber
2-120 MCB

Monday, October 21, 2019
Research presentations:
-Anja Touma
-Iffy Akinnola
2-120 MCB

Monday, November 11, 2019
Research Presentations:
-Robin Lee
-Sarah West
2-120 MCB

Monday, December 2, 2019
MSTP Holiday Event
CCRB Atrium

Monday, January 13, 2020
Research Presentations:
-Megan Schmit
-Brian Trieu
2-120 MCB

Monday, February 10, 2020
Research Presentations:
-Stephanie Rhee
-Blake Stagg
2-120 MCB

Monday, March 9, 2020
Guest speakers
Donna L. Minter, PhD
MN Peacebuilding Leadership Institute

Katrina Cisneros, LICSW, MSSW
UMN Clinical Mental Health Committee
UMN Families & Children Committee
Co-Chair of the Diversity & Equity Committee in the UMN School of Social Work.
2-122 MCB

Monday, April 13, 2020
M4 Graduate Panel
Hosted via Zoom

Thursday, May 7, 2020
Guest speaker
Dr. Lewis Roberts, MB ChB PhD
Mayo Clinic
Hosted via Zoom

Monday, June 8, 2020
Guest Speaker 
Dr. Elizabeth Seaquist, MD
Associate Dean for Medical Specialties and Primary Care
University of Minnesota Medical School
Hosted via Zoom


CONTACT MEDICAL SCIENTIST TRAINING PROGRAM (MD/ PhD)

B681 Mayo Building, MMC 293
420 Delaware St. SE, Minneapolis, MN 55455

Email: mdphd@umn.edu
Phone: 612-625-3680 | Fax: 612-626-5994