Office of Research

About the Research Office

Research at the Medical School extends from the basic sciences to translational and clinical research. The Medical School supports this work by providing a variety of funding opportunities, connecting individuals and teams to University and external grant funding, creating and disseminating tools and support strategies, providing information and direction on research space and facilities, and supporting the Centers, Institutes, Programs, and Medical Discovery Teams. The Research Office includes three areas: Strategic Initiatives, Clinical Research Support, and Pre-Award Proposal Development Services.

Expand all

Research Office Faculty and Staff

Leadership

Dr. Timothy Schacker, schac008@umn.edu
Vice Dean for Research
 
Dr. Peter Crawford, crawforp@umn.edu
Associate Dean, Research Operations

Jane Welter, MBA, colli691@umn.edu
Senior Director of Research Strategy and Operations

Pre-Award and Proposal Development Services

Jamie Dillon, MBA, jjdillon@umn.edu
Director of Pre-Award and Proposal Development Services
 
Erin Brudvik, MPP, erinb@umn.edu
VA/UMN Research Manager
 
Jessica Chiovitte, MHSc, jkoski@umn.edu
Program Manager

Kristin Hogsett, MPH, hogse005@umn.edu
Grants Coordinator

Jordan Webb, webb023@umn.edu
Grants and Contracts Officer

Clinical Research Support

Mahrya Johson, MBA, CCRP, mjohnso@umn.edu
Director of Clinical Research Support

Julianne Feola, PhD, CCRP, jfeola@umn.edu
Research Project Specialist, Greater MN Research Initiative

Amanda Rueter, PhD, arueter@umn.edu
Research Project Specialist

Research Office Staff

Peg Brown, brown489@umn.edu
Director, Facilities Planning

Christina Clarkson, clar0423@umn.edu
Project Coordinator

Steph Hulting, shulting@umn.edu
Project Manager

Craig Olson, olso7966@umn.edu
Assistant to Tim Schacker, Vice Dean for Research

Stephanie Preekett, preekett@umn.edu
Senior Project Manager

Rosalyn Segal, rsegal@umn.edu
Medical Discovery Teams (MDTs)
Administrative Director, Institute for Translational Neuroscience (ITN)

Laura Seifert, seif0056@umn.edu
Operations Director, Institute on Infectious Diseases