Office of Research

About the Office of Research

Research at the Medical School extends from the basic sciences to translational and clinical research. The Medical School supports this work by providing a variety of funding opportunities, connecting individuals and teams to University and external grant funding, creating and disseminating tools and support strategies, providing information and direction on research space and facilities, and supporting the Centers, Institutes, Programs, and Medical Discovery Teams. The Office of Research includes three areas: Strategic Initiatives, Clinical Research Support, and Pre-Award Proposal Development Services.

Expand all

Office of Research Faculty and Staff


Dr. Peter Crawford,
Vice Dean for Research

Jane Welter, MBA,
Senior Director of Research Strategy and Operations

Pre-Award and Proposal Development Services

Jamie Dillon, MBA,
Director of Pre-Award and Proposal Development Services

Katie Bevins,
Grant Coordinator

Erin Brudvik, MPP,
VA/UMN Research Manager
Jessica Chiovitte, MHSc,
Program Manager

Kristin Hogsett, MPH,
Grants Coordinator

Ann M. Sather,  
Grant Coordinator

Angie Slattery,
Grants and Contracts Manager, Duluth 

Yorie Smart, 
Grants and Contracts Officer

Alex Stark, 
Grants and Contracts Coordinator 

Jordan Webb,
Grants and Contracts Officer

Clinical Research Support

Mahrya Johson, MBA, CCRP,
Director of Clinical Research Support

Julianne Feola, PhD, CCRP,
Research Project Specialist, Greater MN Research Initiative

Amanda Rueter, PhD,
Research Project Specialist

Office of Research Staff

Christina Clarkson,
Assistant to Vice Dean of Research and Project Coordinator

Steph Hulting,
Project Manager

Stephanie Preekett,
Senior Project Manager

Laura Seifert,
Operations Director, Institute on Infectious Diseases