Office of Research

About the Office of Research

Research at the Medical School extends from the basic sciences to translational and clinical research. The Medical School supports this work by providing a variety of funding opportunities, connecting individuals and teams to University and external grant funding, creating and disseminating tools and support strategies, providing information and direction on research space and facilities, and supporting the Centers, Institutes, Programs, and Medical Discovery Teams. The Office of Research includes three areas: Strategic Initiatives, Clinical Research Support, and Pre-Award Proposal Development Services.

Expand all

Office of Research Faculty and Staff

Leadership

Dr. Peter Crawford, crawforp@umn.edu
Vice Dean for Research

Jane Welter, MBA, colli691@umn.edu
Senior Director of Research Strategy and Operations

Pre-Award and Proposal Development Services

Jamie Dillon, MBA, jjdillon@umn.edu
Director of Pre-Award and Proposal Development Services
 
Erin Brudvik, MPP, erinb@umn.edu
VA/UMN Research Manager
 
Jessica Chiovitte, MHSc, jkoski@umn.edu
Program Manager

Alisha Cunningham, cunni729@umn.edu 
Grant Coordinator 

Kristin Hogsett, MPH, hogse005@umn.edu
Grants Coordinator

Ann M. Sather, a-sath@umn.edu  
Grant Coordinator

Angie Slattery, aslatter@umn.edu
Grants and Contracts Manager, Duluth 

Yorie Smart, smart006@umn.edu 
Grants and Contracts Officer

Alex Stark, golie006@umn.edu 
Grants and Contracts Coordinator 

Jordan Webb, webb023@umn.edu
Grants and Contracts Officer

Clinical Research Support

Mahrya Johson, MBA, CCRP, mjohnso@umn.edu
Director of Clinical Research Support

Julianne Feola, PhD, CCRP, jfeola@umn.edu
Research Project Specialist, Greater MN Research Initiative

Amanda Rueter, PhD, arueter@umn.edu
Research Project Specialist

Office of Research Staff

Christina Clarkson, clar0423@umn.edu
Assistant to Vice Dean of Research and Project Coordinator

Steph Hulting, shulting@umn.edu
Project Manager

Stephanie Preekett, preekett@umn.edu
Senior Project Manager

Laura Seifert, seif0056@umn.edu
Operations Director, Institute on Infectious Diseases