On Thursday, October 26, the University of Minnesota Medical School celebrated its outstanding faculty by highlighting their work at the Dean’s Distinguished Research Lectureship (DDRL) and Wall of Scholarship Celebration.

The event opened with a brief video about the achievements of Drs. Stephen Hecht and Dorothy Hatsukami, the two honorees of the 2017 DDRL. Watch the full video below.

Medical School Dean Jakub Tolar spoke to the broad impact both DDRL honorees have had on their field of nicotine addiction and cancer caused by tobacco use. The honorees then presented some of their work by sharing a broad overview and their latest developments with a gathered group of faculty.
The event concluded with the Wall of Scholarship Celebration, recognizing faculty who have first or last author credits on a publication that has been cited at least 1,000 times as indicated by two of three major citation indices (Google Scholar, Scopus, Web of Science).

The 2017 Wall of Scholarship honorees included:

  • Karen H Ashe, M.D., Ph.D., Department of Neurology

  • James M Ervasti, Ph.D., Department of Biochemistry, Molecular Biology and Biophysics

  • Daniel J Garry, M.D., Ph.D., Department of Medicine

  • Dorothy K Hatsukami, Ph.D., Department of Psychiatry

  • Michael Mauer, M.D., Department of Pediatrics

  • Timothy J Wilt, M.D., M.P.H., Department of Medicine.

The Wall of Scholarship is located on the second floor of the Phillips-Wangensteen Building. See a set of photos of the event on the UMN Medical School Facebook page.