2017 Promotion and Tenure Reception

Faculty stands together holding Tenure plaques

We are proud to have honored our distinguished and talented faculty at the Medical School Promotion and Tenure Reception. The event took place at the Weisman Art Museum on a Thursday evening with food and drinks provided by D’Amico & Sons.

We celebrated faculty that received promotions during the 2016-17 academic year as well as those who received tenure. A total of 42 faculty were recognized at this event. 26 of our faculty were promoted to associate professor, including 5 with the award of tenure, and 16 were promoted to professor 

Dr. Tucker LeBien presented the Carole J. Bland Outstanding Faculty Mentor Award to Drs. John Eckfeldt and Marc Jenkins. These two doctors were praised for their dedication to advancing young careers and their true embodiment of Dr. Bland’s gift and passion for mentoring faculty.  

After the plaques were awarded, Dr. LeBien announced the promotion and tenure honorees. Candidates were called up with the chair of their department to be recognized and photographed.

Our faculty demonstrates commitment to scholarship, research, education and service. By advancing health research and training the next generation of physicians and scientists, our faculty are helping the people of our community and the world to live longer, healthier lives.

View pictures from the event here.