The University of Minnesota Medical School congratulates Dr. Kumar Belani from our Department of Anesthesiology for being awarded the 2018 University of Minnesota President's Award for Outstanding Service. Dr. Belani’s one of only 12 recipients of the award.

In an email announcement, President Eric W. Kaler stated, “recipients of this award have gone well beyond their regular duties and have demonstrated an unusual commitment to the University community.”

The honor was established in 1997 to recognize faculty and staff (current or retired) who have provided exceptional service to the University, its schools, colleges, departments and service units.

“This award is well-deserved,” said Michael Wall, MD, FCCM, Head of the Department of Anesthesiology, “Dr. Belani is a passionate physician, educator, mentor and a valuable part of our department.”

Visit the University’s awards and honors webpage for more information about the President’s Outstanding Service Award.