The American Diabetes Association (ADA) recently announced this year’s National Scientific and Health Care Achievement Award recipients.

Betsy Seaquist, MD, professor in the University of Minnesota Medical School’s Department of Medicine and Pennock Family Chair in Diabetes Research, Division of Diabetes, Endocrinology and Metabolism, is the recipient of the 2020 Albert Renold Award. This award is presented to an individual whose career is distinguished by outstanding achievements in the training and mentorship of diabetes research scientists and in the development of communities of scientists to enhance diabetes research. Dr. Seaquist, a past President of Medicine & Science for the ADA, has trained and mentored a generation of junior faculty who are now emerging leaders in the field of diabetes research. She also serves as associate dean for Medical Specialties and Primary Care for the Medical School.

The ADA awards are given in eight categories to recognize healthcare providers and educators who have contributed to tangible advances in the field of diabetes care and research. Each recipient has shown outstanding commitment to achieving the vision of the ADA: life free of diabetes and all its burdens.