Effective January 1, 2020, Martha Wright MD, of the Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Neurosciences, will be joining the Board of Directors of the American Board of Ophthalmology (ABO). 

Dr. Wright currently holds the role of Haven Professor of Glaucoma and the Glaucoma Service Director at the University of Minnesota. She completed a two-year clinical and research fellowship in Glaucoma at the Bascom Palmer Eye Institute of the University of Miami. During this time, Dr. Wright researched the effectiveness of surgical treatment of glaucoma in children and adults. 

Additionally, Dr. Wright was the director of the medical student rotation in Ophthalmology at the University of Minnesota Medical School for five years and the Opthalmology Residency Director for 21 years.

Familiar to the life of great achievements, Dr. Wright has been on the list of “Best Doctors in America” since 1996 as well as “Minneapolis-St Paul Magazine Top Doctors” since 2012.

Certified by the ABO in 1990, Dr. Wright has been active in the Maintenance of Certification program. She participates in ABO exam development as an item writer and reviewer. 

Starting her term in 2020, Dr. Wright will serve one full term of three years on the Board of Directors.