Faculty and students from the Duluth Campus Family Medicine Interest Group (FMIG) were honored as the 2019 Program of Excellence at the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) National Conference in Kansas City, MO on Friday, July 26.

The Program of Excellence award recognizes the FMIG’s work towards advancing the family medicine workforce. During the academic year, FMIG put on a networking dinner for physicians and students, a lunch lecture on LGBTQ+ healthcare in family medicine, wilderness medicine training on extreme temperatures, an obstetrics simulation, a suturing skills lab, and sponsored a Polar Plunge team.

Led by faculty advisor, Dr. Raymond Christensen from the Department of Family Medicine and Biobehavioral Health, the Duluth Campus FMIG is one of the largest, most active student groups in the medical school. FMIG aims to provide students with opportunities to learn from physicians and healthcare workers in the community beyond the classroom and allow students to explore family medicine.

The Duluth Campus FMIG leadership team is made up of class elected first and second-year students, including AAFP student membership ambassadors.

The 2018-2019 Duluth Campus FMIG Leadership Team Included:
K.C. Riley - President
Rebekah Fiers - Vice President
Chandni Patel - Treasurer
Alex Wooner - Secretary
Emily Sirek, Ashley Wittrock, Michael Beckman, Kaylie Evers, Fred Blaisdell, and Josie Nistler.