Four inducted to Society for Pediatric Research

The Society for Pediatric Research (SPR) was founded in the 1930s as an academic society committed to fostering the research and career development of investigators engaged in creating new knowledge that advances the health and well-being of children and youth. Since that time, the SPR has emerged as the pre-eminent international society devoted to young investigators in basic science and translational research. Membership is highly competitive, limited to early-stage investigators, and requires demonstration of excellence in child health research through metrics such as extramural peer-reviewed funding and publication of original scientific manuscripts.

The primary purpose of the SPR is to encourage young investigators engaged in research that is of benefit to children. This is accomplished by providing a forum for interchange of ideas and an opportunity for these young investigators to present their work; indeed, the SPR was the driving force in the establishment of the Pediatric Academic Societies (PAS) Annual Meeting, an international meeting that provides a forum for presentation and dissemination of innovative ideas and research. In addition, the Society actively supports the development of future pediatric scientists by sponsoring a student research-training program and recognizing outstanding research achievements in pediatrics through SPR-sponsored awards. The SPR consists of member investigators from all nations and all pediatric disciplines that bridge basic science, clinical, translational, and epidemiologic research for the advancement of the health of children worldwide.

This week, the SPR announced that four new members have been elected to the Society from the University of Minnesota (nominated by Professor Mark R. Schleiss, M.D., Department of Pediatrics). They are:

  • Erin A. Osterholm, M.D. | Pediatrics' Division of Neonatalogy
    recognized for her neurocognitive research in premature infants
  • Heather Stefanski, M.D., Ph.D. | Pediatrics' Division of Blood and Marrow Transplantation
    recognized for her work in immune reconstitution after umbilical cord blood transplantation
  • Shane A. McAllister, M.D., Ph.D. | Pediatrics' Division of Pediatric Infectious Diseases
    recognized for his work on herpesvirus infections
  • Pui-Ying Iroh Tam, M.D. | Pediatrics' Division of Infectious Diseases
    recognized for her work on molecular epidemiology of pediatric infections

Dr. McAllister is scholar in the NIH funded CHRCDA K12 award to the University of Minnesota, and Dr. Iroh Tam is a past recipient of the SPR Young Investigator Coaching Award.

The UMN should be proud of the accomplishments of these young investigators! Congratulations for this outstanding honor.