Laura Stone, PhD

Professor, Department of Anesthesiology

Laura Stone

Contact Info

Mobile Phone 612-422-9880

Mailing Address:
Anesthesiology Administration
420 Delaware Street SEMMC 294
Minneapolis, MN 44544

Lab Address:
Jackson Hall 4-145
321 Church St SE,
Minneapolis, MN 55455

PhD, Neuroscience, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities, 1999

BS, Biochemistry, University of California-San Diego , 1993

Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Vollum Institute, Oregon Health Sciences University, 2000


Dr. Stone is a professor in the Department of Anesthesiology at the University of Minnesota Medical School. She received a Bachelor of Science in biochemistry from the University of California-San Diego and PhD in neuroscience from the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities.


Mechanisms of Pain, Epigenetic regulation of chronic pain, Pharmacological and non-pharmacological methods of treatment

Awards & Recognition

2014: International Society for the Study of Lumbar Spine - Best Paper Award (Basic Science Category) – Awarded for the manuscript entitled: “ISSLS Prize Winner: Increased Innervation and Sensory Nervous System Plasticity in a Mouse Model of Low Back Pain due to Intervertebral Disc Degeneration” by M. Miyagi, M. Millecamps, A.T. Danco, S. Ohtori, K. Takahashi and L.S. Stone; Spine 39:1345-1354.

2011:  Quebec Science Top 10 – Selected by Quebec Science Magazine as one of the top 10 scientific discoveries in the province for “Effective treatment of chronic low back pain reverses structural and functional brain changes” by D.A. Seminowicz, T.H. Wideman, L. Naso, Z. Hatami-Khoroushahi, S. Fallatah, M. Ware, P. Jarzem, M.C. Bushnell, Y. Shir, J.A. Ouellet, and L.S. Stone,Journal of Neuroscience, 31(20):7540-7550.

2008-2011:  Salary Award (Bourse de chercheur-boursier “Junior 2”) – Fonds de la recherche en sante Quebec. This award provides an average of $68,000/year for three years towards salary support as a young-mid career investigator.

2006:  American Pain Society John C. Liebeskind Early Career Scholar Award - This award recognizes early career achievements that have or show exceptional promise of making an outstanding contribution to pain scholarship. One award per year.

2000:  Association of Neuroscience Departments and Programs Training Fellowship - Awarded to individuals showing outstanding leadership potential.

1999:  John J. Bonica Post-Doctoral Training Fellowship - This training fellowship is awarded annually to one individual by the International Association for the Study of Pain. The 1999 fellowship represented the inaugural award.

1999:  Bacaner Research Award – This award is given annually to recognize excellence in creative research by graduating students in the Medical Sciences.

1998:  Patrick J. Manning Research Award - This award is given annually at the University of Minnesota “In recognition of significant contributions to biomedical research and to the enhancement of the welfare of animals used in research”.

Professional Associations

2017-Present - Member, Orthopedic Research Society & Spine Section

2014-Present - Member, Sigma Xi, Scientific Research Society

2010-Present - Member, AO Spine Foundation

2010-Present - Member, Canadian Neuroscience Association

2007-Present - Member, McGill Association of University Teachers

2007-Present - Member, Canadian Pain Society

1996-Present - Member, American Pain Society

1996-Present - Member, International Association for the Study of Pain

1995-Present - Member, Society for Neuroscience